Founding Board of DirectorsThe Community Foundation of Southern Maryland is overseen by a diverse volunteer board and operated by paid professional staff with expertise in understanding the community’s needs, opportunities and resources.

The CFSOMD Board of Directors:

Ellen Flowers Fields
Board Member
College of Southern Maryland

Read Bio
Ellen Flowers-Fields serves as Associate Vice-President for Continuing Education and Workforce Development at the College of Southern Maryland. She is responsible for the oversight of all areas of the non-credit economic and community development programming in Southern Maryland, including the Center for Trades and Energy Training, MCET, the Workforce Center, the SBDC, the Non-Profit Institute, the Transportation Center and adult basic education at all CSM campuses.

Ellen has over 25 years of progressive professional experience in the field of workforce development and human capital management. Her diverse background includes the acquisition, project management and implementation of various federal, state and local programs that address community economic development needs. Throughout her career she has acquired and managed nearly $100 million dollars in support of various economic and community development initiatives. Funding acquisition from USDOL, USDA, US Dept of Commerce, Veterans Administration, Federal Highway Administration, and numerous state and local agencies, in NY, GA and MD.

Prior to serving in her current role, Ellen served Regional Director of the Small Business Development Center at CSM. Ellen served as Acting Assistant Secretary, and Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Division of Workforce Development & Adult Learning at the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation from 2011 – 2014; Regional Director of Economic Development at the Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland from 2006 – 2011; and Executive Director for Southern Maryland Works from 2000 – 2006. In this role, Ellen led the efforts to establish the region’s first One Stop workforce service delivery system and Workforce Investment Board under the Federal Workforce Investment Act.

Ellen holds a Bachelors of Business Administration from Pace University in New York; Certification from the International Business Innovation Association in Business Incubation Management; and is credentialed as a Global Career Development Facilitator from the Center for Credentialing and Education. She is a 2009 graduate of the inaugural Class of Leadership Southern Maryland, an entrepreneur, and a self-published author.

Affiliations include Executive Board member Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland; Member of the National Association of Workforce Development Professionals and the Maryland Economic Development Association; Past Board Member Maryland Broadband Coordination Board; Past board chair, Bethel House Inc.; Immediate past Board chair, Community Foundation of Southern Maryland; Alumni of the Inaugural class of Leadership Southern Maryland 2009.

Recognitions include recipient of 2017 Excellence Award from the National League for Innovation in Community Colleges; 2018 recipient of CEO award from the Southern Maryland Minority Chamber of Commerce; Calvert County Commissioner’s Business owner appreciation recognition 2008 & 2014; Recipient of 2008 Woman of the Year award from Calvert County Concerned Black Women; Recipient of 2005 Charles County Minority Business of the Year; Nominations for the 2006 Leadership Maryland class and 2006 Maryland’s Top 100 Women.

Jeffrey C. Slagle
Jeffrey C. Slagle
Board Member
Chaney Enterprise

Tabatha Caldwell
Board Secretary
Community Bank of the Chesapeake

Read Bio
Tabatha grew up in Southern Maryland and enjoys time with her husband and 4 children who can often be found together at school events, farmers market and local festivals. She enjoys working in Charles County and likes to help and volunteer her time whenever she has the chance. She has enjoyed participating in the Torch Run Special Olympics and is pleased to be the newest board member joining the Community Foundation of Southern Maryland.

Tabatha joined Community Bank of the Chesapeake in 2017 as a teller and continued her progression in roles as Head Teller and Assistant Branch Manager before moving into her current position as Business Development Officer at the Waldorf Home Office branch. A big part of her position is serving the community by helping local businesses succeed and building relationships within the Southern Maryland area.